User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2014, 11:01 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default DOT Medical Card Question

I have been driving for the last 20 years and normally I have my Primary care doctor at the Cleveland clinic a M.D. give me a physical and then he fills my dot card out and signs it when hes done... it lasts for 2 years ...well my time is coming back up in late December for my card to expire, can I still get my primary doctor to do my dot physical or does the Doctor have to be registered to do these? I cant see why a doctor who can perform FAA medical exams cant perform a dot physical ? I asked his head nurse if he ever registered to do the dot physical and she is unaware of having to do so? the bottom line is he required? or not?
Old 11-03-2014, 11:12 PM
Rookie

here is what I found: DOT Medical Exam and Commercial Motor Vehicle Certification | Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration

according to this any md is good to go?
Old 11-08-2014, 02:00 PM
Board Icon

Quote:
Originally Posted by couponjohn View Post
Not sure if the wording is confusing or not, but.... not just ANY will do. Your reference was updated in February of 2014, but.... the effective date of the new "rules" is May of 2014. Click on this link and read the section at top right under "WELCOME."

Also on this page is a link to search for "registered" MD's in your area.

https://nationalregistry.fmcsa.dot.g...icUI/home.seam

TRUCKIN' AIN'T FOR WUSSES!!!

"I am willing to admit that I was wrong." The Rev.
Old 01-15-2015, 10:54 PM

Just had DOT safety audit 1/13-14/2015 and he said any new/renewal physicals must be performed by somebody on registry.
Old 01-17-2015, 12:29 AM
Senior Board Member

Yes. They must be on the listing.
Old 01-17-2015, 03:20 AM
Senior Board Member

in New Zealand our license renewed every 10 years till you 75 then 5 year.have medical for our heavy truck license when we renew it
Old 01-17-2015, 11:41 AM
Administrator
Site Admin