User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2013, 08:35 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default accident

I have been a truck driver for 20 years. I was in an accident , it was misting, and I was doing a lane change when I hit a car. The car had to be towed but everyone was ok. This is my first accident ever. I got cited for illegal change. This is DOT reportable because the car was towed. My job suspended me. I have been calling to find out if I still have a job but getting runaround. Do you think I will lose my job and if so do you think I will be able to find another job. If so where . Thanks
Old 10-26-2013, 08:23 PM
Board Icon

Sorry to hear about this. It clearly sounds like an accident. Blind spots are dangerous enough when the weather is clear. One reason why we must ALWAYS be checking our mirrors and knowing where all the cars are around us.

Yes... I think they will probably fire you. It sucks, but that is the way MOST companies operate. Of course, you KNOW this after 20 years in the industry. If this is the only thing on your record (or DAC) I think you WILL get another job, but.... it will take time and perseverance. Don't give up.

Smaller companies are often self-insured and can take a chance on you. Your record should be a big help. You need to show them that you understand that you made a mistake and that you will be MORE aware in the future. Don't come off with an attitude.

You didn't give many specifics, so my answer is also kinda vague. I don't know about specific companies in your area, but some on here might if you will give more details about your location, company, etc.

Best of luck and keep us posted.

TRUCKIN' AIN'T FOR WUSSES!!!

"I am willing to admit that I was wrong." The Rev.
Old 10-27-2013, 12:54 AM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon