User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-19-2013, 11:04 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Question New career, old ghosts

Hello.

I am looking into getting my CDL to start a career in truck driving. I have been rummaging through the forums looking to see if there might be any hang ups before I start the process. About 8 years ago I failed a drug test for pre-employment at a retail chain store. One of the big ones. (I was a dumb art student and the world couldn't touch me. Now I Know better.) I may just be stupid but I was wandering if this would affect my ability to get my CDL or be hired by a major trucking company. As far as i know I never signed any release on the info to be sent to anyone. I just got a phone call saying i would not get the job. I have been driving van for a automotive part delivery company for 5 years and there has never been an issue or will there ever be.

Thanks for any light that could be shown on the situation.
Old 03-20-2013, 05:36 PM
Rookie

You can possibly get it expunged or sealed. But even so, know that the chances are good that a busybody at your future place of employment who knows a cop will dig it up somehow, and self-righteously notify your fellow workers, and possibly create problems for you.
Old 03-21-2013, 07:16 AM
Rookie

Ok. Thanks for the help. It was a long time ago and I will Just have to live with it.
Old 03-22-2013, 03:09 PM
Rookie

Maybe I'm missing something but if it was just a pre-employment screening for a company you never ended up working for then there will be no public record to worry about. It's not like you'll be putting info about jobs that you applied for but didn't get on any future job applications.
Old 03-27-2013, 09:45 AM
Rookie