User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2014, 11:11 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Own Authority or lease on ?

I would appreciate any advise from experienced Owner Operators about whether to Lease on or not. I have about 2 years experience operating a flatbed with my own authority. I do not work all year as We have a Family Farm and I am very involved in it. I typically do 2 weeks out and one week at home.
It is currently costing me $11000 to cover Insurance, Plates etc and with load board rates (I use load boards all the time) what they are I'm thinking of leasing on to Admiral Merchants, Mercer, Jones or some Company that does Flatbed work. What are the pros and cons....Thank you
Old 04-24-2014, 03:14 AM
Rookie

I have been a company driver, owner operator, operations manager, and now currently an independent Freight Logistics Agent. I have not personally leased onto a company. I understand what it's like to always spend time looking on load boards trying to find the right paying loads. I also have friends and family that are owner operators leased onto a company and they always talk about getting their own authority so they can make more money. I work for Owner Operators and small carriers to handle all loads, paperwork, negotiations, and invoicing. There is No Contract so if you choose to run any of the loads I have that's completely up to you. We charge 5 % for every load you haul and 24 hr payment to you upon proof of delivery which is handled by transflo. I have tons of flatbed loads daily. I hear some companies charge owner operators 35% plus the mileage pay is low. If you are interested in obtaining more information. Please feel free to contact me via email at [email protected] Looking forward to speaking with you soon.

Last edited by FreightLogisticsAgent; 04-24-2014 at 03:16 AM. Reason: misspelled words
Old 04-26-2014, 03:35 AM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon

Quote:
Originally Posted by patsyk View Post