User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2013, 06:06 PM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Hauling Containers

I did some searching on previous posts but didn't quite find the answers I was looking for. As is generally known, we are a South Florida based reefer company. I am stopping now at 34 power units and about 40 trailers. We could grow some more but I'm still learning and can proudly say we have never been beat for money. I go slow. We are TSA approved, Carb approved etc.

We attend monthly port meetings and the other day the rep I sent in my place (I hate those types of meetings) and he made several contacts. One was one of the largest Customs Broker for perishables in Miami. Long story short he said it's a nightmare with the companies down here and they would love to find a professional outfit. I assume it can't pay well, as let's be honest, Miami is nothing more than North South America. I have no Spanish speaking drivers. Me and one girl in the office are the only ones in the company that speak Spanish (I'm not Spanish but speak it fluently).

I believe even if we broke even, the guy said once the company get's the containers to their customers, the customers then find their own reefers (which we would then offer our services). I'm just not sure where to even start.

I can go buy some Chassis, but does the truck need a special 5th wheel? How does one charge, by the mile or per trip?

Again I am just trying to get our name out there a bit more. The port wants us to do a presentation in February on our services. We are also in the process of opening a brokerage. I am just trying to get the bond approved; we've already opened up a second company. And who knows maybe if we did these containers and met enough customers we could do consolidation or get set up with the rail which is next on my list.

Anyway again, besides just buying a chassis what else do I need?

Thanks.

Last edited by merrick4; 12-13-2013 at 02:17 AM.