User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-25-2012, 03:04 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default O/O Information Resources needed:

I am currently a company driver with 5+yrs of driving experience with the same company. I am looking for information resources on the basics of going O/O, how to get started, with the intent of running as a Lease Operator with this same company - as others at my particular terminal have done. I have an opportunity to buy the company truck I'm in now and have had since it was new, ('07 model yr, made in '06.) I will be joining OOIDA soon and will be scouring their website.. Any additional resources available would be greatly appreciated. Thanks..
Old 03-25-2012, 03:50 PM
Senior Board Member

First question, have you talked to the company itself to see what they say and if you are qualified to transfer to the O/O,L/O program.

You do realize that you will loose whatever benefits the company offers.

What is your reasoning behind becoming an O/O?
Old 03-26-2012, 08:18 AM
Senior Board Member

For 'information resources' have you tried the search button on this site? Try searching for authority or insurance or "truck payment" etc and you'll learn plenty.
Old 03-26-2012, 08:59 AM
Board Regular

I don't know how or what your company pays, or how much your lease will be, but check this post out http://www.classadrivers.com/forum/o...-backhaul.html

This would be a good place to start, the numbers used are pretty accurate from my own experience as an O/O with my own authority and at the ugly end as a lease op with free and clear equipment, flat beds. I honestly would not recommend doing what you are thinking of doing, because quite frankly, the money just isn't there anymore. When fuel hits $5+ this summer... Never mind... Good luck!
Old 03-26-2012, 12:59 PM
Senior Board Member