User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2011, 01:49 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default 69% of load

I am a company driver doing reefer. If I go owner operator with my current company, they pay 69% of the load with 100% fuel surcharge. My question is, Is this a high enough percentage to stay afloat and show a profit? Yes I know there has to be certain minimums as far as miles per week driven and truck payment and maintenance and so on. Landstar pays 64%, Schneider pays 65%, on up to 80% with Gulick or Interstate, once in a while even higher percentages depending on the company. I know I am not being very specific on numbers, I am just asking a general question at this point in time. I would like to be an o/o but only if I like what I hear, from my employer, from this forum, and anyone else.
Old 11-06-2011, 02:12 AM
Senior Board Member

While the percentage is importent but it's NOT everything. I'd much rather have 50% of say $10,000 than to get 70% of $6500.
Who can keep you AND provide good paying loads?
Old 11-06-2011, 03:01 AM
Senior Board Member

i get 70% and 100% fsc, pulling rail containers. i must say i am quite comfterable. i get $250 to go 54 miles... a few weeks ago i went to nj from harrisburg got $633 to go maybe 150 miles. what i say is.. you make it sometimes... sometimes you dont. no companywill show you what they're getting for it so you dont know if you are really getting the % they say you are
Old 11-06-2011, 03:40 AM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon

It depends on the rate. If the rate is high enough the money could be good. Do you furnish your own trailer or use the company's?
Old 11-06-2011, 04:07 PM
Rookie

It is 69% with company trailer, 80% with my own trailer. I have not asked my company yet what the rates generally range. If I do o/o I would use company trailer. If the lowest rates were $1.50 and the highest were $2.20 would that be viable?
Old 11-07-2011, 02:55 AM
Senior Board Member