User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2011, 08:16 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Need o/o advice!!!!!!

Hello truckers:

Im currently looking to pursue my childhood dream, which is to become a truck driver. But I have questions about whether its even doable the way I want to do it. Here we go: I am 26 years old and live in Houston, Tx. I work offshore with Shell 14X14 schedule (14 days on and 14 days off) and I just got my class A CDL and I have no driving experience which Im sure will probably be my biggest setback. My plan is to buy a truck $10,000-$20,000 and I would like to run a least 5-7 days on my 14 days off. I would like to run a 500 mile radius (due to insurance, road, and fuel tax purposes).

P.S. I don't want to quit my current job due to benefits and the money that I make out here. I just want to make a little more money on my days off rather than just sitting around trying to find something to do. I figured that this maybe something I can do on my days off (which is something I've always wanted to do as a kid. Let me know what you guys think about this. Thanks in advance
Old 09-20-2011, 11:18 AM
Board Regular

14 consecutive days off is certainly enough time to make some decent supplemental income. You are correct, lack of experience will probably be your biggest hurdle. The good news is that there appear to be quite a few o/o positions available around Houston that involve staying local, based on a quick scan of craigslist. Maybe try talking to a small container company. I definitely think you would be much better off trying to do this with a truck that is paid for.
Old 09-20-2011, 12:39 PM
Rookie

Thanks Rambler I just looked on craigslist and they did have some options. And yeah that my plan to buy the truck cash so that I wont have a note.
Old 09-21-2011, 03:26 AM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon