User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-25-2011, 12:36 AM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Starting small fleet trucking business...

Hello,

My name is Ben and I live in Memphis, TN. I work as a career firefighter and am looking into starting a small fleet trucking business. My current work schedule allows me 20 days off per month and my salary allows me to cover all of my bills comftorably.

I am looking into purchasing one or two trucks and hiring driver(s) to operate them leased on to a carrier. I have been pondering this business for several years now. I am willing to put the time and effort into establishing a business for the long term. I acknowledge that there are significant risks and many factors both controllable and uncontrollable in the freight business. That being said, America runs on trucks and people aren't in this business to lose money so there has to be a way to do this profitably. I believe there is a relationship between risk and reward and those who stick there neck out there increase their chances for success but unfortunately get thier head cut off to. At this point I am in the planning stages and am assessing the feasability of this venture. I value the experience on this board and would love to get any feedback that yall would be willing to give me. That being said here are some of the many questions I have;

1. Is purchasing a truck via dealer financing, independent bank financing, or via a leaseing company the preferred way to go?

2. How would you organize your business? (sole propietership, LLC, etc...)

3. What is the average time between delivering a load a receiving payment?

4. Can you recomend any companies to lease to?

5. Long term what pay structure is most profitable and most consistent? (per mile vs. percentage of load)

6. When leased as an o/o / fleet owner, how is dispatch handled? Would the company dispatch the truck(s) or would I be responsible for finding loads?