User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-12-2007, 07:29 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default can i make it???

hi all,

newbie here to to the forums and have a couple of questions regarding starting my own runs on my own truck.

a little background first. i had originally gotten my cdl-a in 1993 when i was 20, and because of my age, i went into class b driving and have been ever since. in 2002 because of a personal reason (without going into to much detail i witnessed the murder of a close family member) and it really took a toll on me and i have been on disability since 2004. im currently back to my old self, and decided to retrain my cdl-a and start my career path over.

this is where the problem started. while i was still in school training, i began to apply to the bigger carriers (swift, us xpress, werner, etc...) and they are all refusing to offer me employment. i have an absolutely clean mvr,criminal background, and s forth, but they are still refusing and it has to be because i am on disability (i take no medications nor was i required to at any time and i have no physical or limitations)

so the instructors at my retraining have advised me that i might be better off with my own truck and im leaning toward doing that.

so i guess my 2 big questions are; 1. has anyone else ran into this problem trying to come off disability? 2. if i decide to get my own truck, should i just work for myself? will i have problems working as a lease driver as an o/o for a company as im having now trying to be a company driver? should i get my own trailer tags as well or just go with the tractor only tags?

a big thank you in advance as any info/insight will be greatly appreciated
Old 12-12-2007, 10:47 PM
Senior Board Member

I wonder if they are experiencing a downturn in freight and are using that as an excuse. If things were booming, it may be different.
Old 12-12-2007, 11:58 PM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon