User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2007, 09:20 PM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Considering buying a truck. LOTS of questions.

Hey O/O's I'm considering purchasing a truck next year and have a few questions. I am currently a business owner NOW and know how to successfully run a business and I've also driven for TMC flatbed for a year. I LIKE driving OTR but want a little more freedom. My questions are as follows:

1- Better to Lease or Own?

2- As an O/O, is one free to choose his freight and how hard (or easy) one runs?

3- If you agree to haul freight for one company, for example TMC, are you limited to working ONLY for them?

4- What is the APPROXIMATE typical income average for an O/O after expenses?

That's it for now. I'm sure I'll have more and/or those replying will enlighten me to stuff I've never even considered. Thanks for looking.
Old 11-24-2007, 09:26 PM
Senior Board Member
Default Re: Considering buying a truck. LOTS of questions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldiesPlating
1- Better to Lease or Own?
Own. Leasing is a last resort. If you lease because of bad credit, do not get suckered into those "revolving leases".

Quote:
2- As an O/O, is one free to choose his freight and how hard (or easy) one runs?
Totally depends on the company. Generally if you pay the insurance, there is no forced dispatch. Percentage companies usually have more of an open concept.

Quote:
3- If you agree to haul freight for one company, for example TMC, are you limited to working ONLY for them?
If you're under their authority and insurance, yes.

Quote:
4- What is the APPROXIMATE typical income average for an O/O after expenses?
This REALLY depends. Depends on the company, what you haul, how hard you work, and how much you can keep costs down.

If you do everything right, 70k-80k is easy after the truck is paid off. More is definitely not out of the question.
Old 11-24-2007, 09:58 PM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon