User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-06-2007, 10:57 AM
Senior Board Member
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Brokers and their usefulness

Brokers provide a needed service in this industry. They are there to get your truck back to your headhaul ( therefore broker=backhaul). Headhaul??? What is that Loadit? That is the customer you should have in your pocket before you go out and spend $100,000 on a rig. Mostly all carriers call on and use brokers. I am a broker and I get calls from large carriers, I dont usually book them loads because their drivers and dispatchers tend to lose loads at their drop yards, big headache.

My point is you need brokers, but not to make a living, only to move the truck to headhaul freight. I give O/O's customer leads frequently and they do nothing with them (Pepe) but come here griping about brokers. Go figure, a broker giving you direct shippers in your area and you do nothing with the leads. Depending on brokers is a surefire way to go bellyup. The Broker is not your friend, he is a salesman. He is trying to make as much profit as possible off of a few phone calls, a couple of faxes, an envelope, check and stamp. He isnt concerned too much with your fuel cost, insurance cost, your deadhead, etc unless you are going to continuously help him to make a profit.

Now blast me!!!
Old 11-06-2007, 01:04 PM
Senior Board Member

I think this is a great post,and needed to be said.

Some of these "new" guys running their own authority are only looking to cut out the middle man,they want to cut out the carrier that they could be leased to,but they want to use brokers to find their loads isn't this sorta just like being leased to a company only your perentage is taken out before you know it.