User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2007, 01:45 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default How to figure my log book per diem

Can someone tell me how to figure my per diem rate for my logs? I was told that I can only claim days I show staying out of the state of Ohio. I am an owner operator leased to a company out of Xenia. I primarily drive in PA, OH, and WV. However, I may spend the night away from home, but not out of the state of Ohio.

Can you tell me what I can claim and what I cannot?

Also, does any one know the per diem rate? I was told it increased.
Thanks!
Old 01-31-2007, 04:54 PM
Senior Board Member

The standard meal allowance is $52/day of which 75% is deductible. You are allowed to claim the allowance for all days (24-hour periods) spent away from your tax home which, as an O/O, is probably your house. For partial days in which you leave or return, you can just count 3/4 of a day or you can prorate the day however you want, so long as you consistently use the same method. So, if you leave at noon on Monday and get home at 0600 Thursday your deduction would be: .75(3.5 days x $52) = $136.50
Old 02-09-2008, 08:43 PM
Senior Board Member

Ok no_worries I need some help with this. This accountant I have doesn't understand what I'm talking about.

So I get the coun't up the days out times $52 then 75% of that, but what happens with the actual expenses.

I spend a lot of money on food so if it's over the per diem rate how do I calcualate that?

As always thanks
Old 02-09-2008, 09:03 PM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by merrick4

I spend a lot of money on food so if it's over the per diem rate how do I calcualate that?
You spend an average more than $52 a day on food!? :shock:
Than you should record it (receipts...etc), and claim 75% of your actual expenses.
Old 02-09-2008, 09:15 PM
Senior Board Member