User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2007, 09:54 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default 2nd seat Trainnee

I graduated from Schneiders school in Nov. but it being the week of Thanksgiving I was sent back home before testing for my CDL. While home waiting on an OTR trainner I was released by Schneider due to a change in company policy concerning felony convictions. Whith that and the fact that my license was revoked for a short time in 2005 for allowing my insurance to exspire I can not get any company to pick me up.
So I am wondering if there are any O/O out there who are looking fo a second seat trainnee. I have my permit, and a DOT physical card. Few days of practice, some work on my pretrip, and a truck to test in and I can get my CDL.
Any thoughts on this idea would be welcome.
Old 01-05-2007, 10:56 PM
Board Regular

It would help if you know someone who is an O/O who could take you on the road with them, a family member or a friend, although depending on the drivers insurance company, there might be some insurance companies that won't allow it

But it can be done, this is how I learned to drive on the road, I already had driving experience and I was able to use the truck to test in

I am not sure if your felony conviction will be a problem for other companies, you may have to look into working for a smaller company
Old 01-06-2007, 12:58 AM
Board Regular

This may not be the answer you are looking for, but you may have to go to a truck driving school to get your CDL's. I worked as a recruiter at a Truck Driving School 6 years ago, and we had 50 Trucking Companies that would hire our graduates, but only 3 that would hire people with a felony conviction.

And then it was according to what it was over, for example if it was assault, this was death to getting hired because they figured if a person assaulted someone then they for sure did not want them in a truck.