User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2006, 06:54 PM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Fuel Tax Information.

I have read some post about Fuel Tax (Oregon being high after everything is considered).

I was wondering if someone could tell me where I might find some information on this. I only drive in three states AL, GA, & TN, and usually buy gas in TN as it is 6 to 18 cents cheaper than the other two states.

I haul logs for a living and want to get the most for my money.
Old 12-20-2006, 07:20 PM
Senior Board Member

http://www.etrucker.com/apps/promiles/fuelprices.asp

For a true comparison, only look at the "ex-tax fuel price"

Tennessee is a little cheaper, but you have to compare the actual numbers at the pump, not off this website.

Write down the fuel tax rates for the states you travel in.

They all have very close fuel tax rates, so looking at the pump price actually does get you a good deal.

Now look at Florida Vs Georgia, that is a perfect example of what we're talking about. Florida is 12 cents more expensive at the pump, but actually cheaper when you take out fuel tax.
Old 12-20-2006, 07:24 PM
Senior Board Member

BTW, that site is best for looking at fuel tax, not for comparing the price state vs state. I find it can be quite off in some states. Nebraska is a perfect example.
Old 12-20-2006, 07:36 PM
Board Regular

Thanks for the reply as it helped quite a bit. I have a accountant who does my IFTA, Tags, etc..., and she told me to keep up with the miles and gallons purchased in each state, and every 3 months she would figure what I would pay for IFTA. My CPA explained it to me, but I never did grasp it very well.

I just bought my Truck 1985 FLC, and haul logs for a living. What I am saying is could someone either explain it to me so that I (slow learner) can get a better understanding of this, or tell me a website to go to that could help me understand it better.
Old 12-20-2006, 08:03 PM
Senior Board Member