User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2006, 01:20 PM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Getting these companies to pay..ERRR

OK, I am fairly new to having own authority and would like some insight from those of you who handle your billing.

Why is freight hauling different than any other business? Like if I goto the autoparts store, my account is set so that I pay in 30 days, if i carry a balance, then I get charged interest. The supplier sets the terms for me.

But why do these companies that we haul for(not all but some) pay you when they WANT to pay you? We ask for payment in 30 days. Yet some of our customers decided they dont want to pay in 30 days, you charge them interest, they dont pay the interest, you get in a fight and loose a customer...(sample illustration, didnt happen Yet)

Dont get me wrong, if I know company A pays in 45 days, and thier money is always good in 45 days, thats different. But for a broker/company to rush rush rush, we need the shipment out now, they sure dont follow through with rush rush rush payment.

Almost a month ago we took a load from a Landstar broker, everything was kosher when we left. Then a few days back, was checking into another load from them. The guy said we were not setup with Landstar, after a lengthly conversation with both Landstar main office and the agent we had the original load from, everything was "cleared" and they said we should get payment for that original load in 45 days. At this point 45 days would be a total of roughly 75 days, since it had already been 30 days. We argued and said that it was not our fault they couldnt get their stuff straight, but somehow I know, it will be 45 days. And that was the last load from them.