User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2006, 09:33 PM
Board Regular
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default how to Incorporate or LLC/

I am a company driver but I am asking this question for my lawn care business. I am thinking of trying to get it full time and drive part time, eventually quitting drving hopefully. Are there any advantages to inc or LLC and how do you add that to your company? Do you just put it on your business license or do you have do go through a lawyer? I've seen alot of O/O having Inc on their tractor and i guess the same laws apply to most businesses.
Old 09-20-2006, 10:04 PM
Rookie

What state do you live in. In Missouri it was very easy, I was able to form an LLC in one day on-line. As I understand it the advantages to an L.L.C. is that you are not personally held accountable for business activities. For instance if one of your workers injures someone while driving a company truck the injured could sue the L.L.C but not you personally. As for adding the L.L.C to your company name and business cards that must be done the day your company becomes an L.L.C. You will most likely have to register for a fictitious name with the state. That is unless you company name includes your name (e.g. Brown's lawn-care). Unless you are selling consumables you should not need a resellers license but you will require a federal employers tax id number if you have employees. Please visit your secretary of state's website (e.g. www.sos.mo.gov) for information regarding you state. Please understand that I am no expert and you should contact an attorney for professional advice.
Old 09-21-2006, 02:22 AM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon