Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers

Trucker Forum - Trucking & Driving Forums - Class A Drivers (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/)
-   New Truck Drivers: Get Help Here (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here-102/)
-   -   Fasting before the DOT physical??? (https://www.classadrivers.com/forum/new-truck-drivers-get-help-here/35585-fasting-before-dot-physical.html)

jmazz 09-17-2008 03:36 PM

Fasting before the DOT physical???

I'm getting ready to start with an OTR Co. next week and was going through all the instructions, "items to bring," etc. and came across one item that I found to be interesting. They claim that many drivers fail the DOT physical because they didn't fast the night before. I thought that was odd because as a limo driver I've had a DOT card for 5 years and never heard of this before. My wife is a nurse and she thinks they are trying to snag borderline diabetics. Any thoughts?

tweety bird 09-17-2008 03:48 PM

I think your wife is right. I know quite a few folks who will fail if they eat breakfast so they don't eat until after they go for their physical.

belpre122 09-17-2008 04:01 PM

Re: Fasting before the DOT physical???

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmazz
My wife is a nurse and she thinks they are trying to snag borderline diabetics. Any thoughts?

You've got a smart lady there.

RR9501 09-17-2008 04:07 PM

well, i've never heard of this either, i've passed all mine so far, i've come close because as i got older my blood pressure's gotten higher and im afraid to take meds to control it cause im afraid i'd fail or be revoked my cdl....and unfortunatly diabetes runs in my family so i tend to watch it more...it scares the hell outta me...i dont want to lose my career over this....buti get really nervous at DOT physicals and i cant control my BP level...
now as far as fasting, what exactly is that doing to the body?

kwantz 09-17-2008 04:34 PM