User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-18-2015, 09:07 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Angry Ticket IN LaGrange GA weigh station

Im a new CDL driver...only had my license a week, and i got a ticket at the weigh station in LaGrange GA. Charge was driving within a Gore. Long story short. I missed the scale coming back from my run, and I pulled over still near the scale. Since I couldnt back up I drove over the grass leading to the scale.

Any ideas of how I should go froward.. I had a clean MVR up until this

Thanks for helping a rookie!
Old 03-19-2015, 02:55 AM
Administrator
Site Admin
Board Icon

You should have pulled to the side of the road, preferably before passing the scale, get out of the truck and go talk to the scale master. You might want to get a lawyer and try to fight the ticket. You could also go to court on your own or just pay the ticket. Personally, I would not want the ticket on my record, especially only having your CDL for such a short time. A lawyer might charge from about $250-500 from one of the legal services you see advertising at some truck stops. The way things are these days, it is important to fight any ticket. Next time be careful and assume every scale is open unless you see a closed sign.
Old 03-19-2015, 06:56 PM
Senior Board Member

Seeing as your so new I'd definitely fight it. It will cost some money BUT you can't really have this on your record.
I'm not the begging pleading type but that would of been a good time to start! This could really have an effect on your job and new career. Have you notified your employer yet? Don't wait, they all what to know about tickets as soon as you get them.

"A free people ought not only to be armed and disciplined, but they should have sufficient arms and ammunition to maintain a status of independence from any who might attempt to abuse them, which would include their own government.” George Washington
Old 06-04-2015, 01:35 PM
Rookie