User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2009, 03:05 AM
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default CDL Suspension

I was talking with a friend today, who still drives over-the-road. I drove OTR for a year in 2007. While talking with my friend, he mentioned to me that he found out the hard way (a DOT Inspection) that his CDL had been suspended without notification, due to an issue with his Medical Card not being processed. He got it all straightened out, but this brought about a question for me.

Since I haven't been driving since 2007, but still retain my CDL in case I go back to driving for a living, will my CDL get suspended if my Medical Card expires? Or does this only apply if you are driving at the time? I really want to keep my CDL, so I can go back to driving if I want to, but I want to know if I will have to take another DOT physical to keep the CDL even if I'm currently not driving. Can you guys please help me out here? Thanks in advance.
Old 02-06-2009, 08:19 AM
Senior Board Member

According to a new federal reg that went into effect 1/01/09 you must have a valid medical clearance to have a CDL.
Old 02-06-2009, 11:06 AM
Senior Board Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by tjv189 View Post
I was talking with a friend today, who still drives over-the-road. I drove OTR for a year in 2007. While talking with my friend, he mentioned to me that he found out the hard way (a DOT Inspection) that his CDL had been suspended without notification, due to an issue with his Medical Card not being processed. He got it all straightened out, but this brought about a question for me.