Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 34

Thread: TV Reception in the Truck

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pahrump, NV
    Posts
    59

    Default TV Reception in the Truck

    How do you get TV reception in the truck? Satellite? Antenna?

    I have Dish Network at home. Do Dish Network and DirecTV have any kind of a setup for truck drivers?

  2.  
  3. #2
    got mud?'s Avatar
    got mud? is offline Board Regular
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    374

    Default Re: TV Reception in the Truck

    Quote Originally Posted by Retired in Nevada
    How do you get TV reception in the truck? Satellite? Antenna?

    I have Dish Network at home. Do Dish Network and DirecTV have any kind of a setup for truck drivers?
    you could use an antenna until feb of 2009 after that you will not be able to. I seen lots of guys that have dish network hooked up in their trucks. they just set it up and take down every time they park.
    work harder, millions on welfare are counting on you !

  4. #3
    wsyrob is offline Board Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    216

    Default

    You will still be able to use an antenna after feb 2009. Just need a converter or a digital TV. I use my laptop with a $50.00 usb tv tuner that I hook to an antenna mounted on the mirror. I got over 30 channels about 10 of which were High Def in N Chicago the other night.

  5. #4
    Rev.Vassago's Avatar
    Rev.Vassago is offline Guest Board Icon
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The other side of the coin
    Posts
    9,411

    Default

    TV sucks. Just buy tons of movies.

  6. #5
    Malaki86's Avatar
    Malaki86 is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Mannington, WV
    Posts
    4,411

    Default

    I haven't had a tv or tv tuner in my truck in years. I just use my laptop in the truck and a portable usb drive that I load up on movies and tv shows that I download on my home pc.

  7. #6
    Drew10's Avatar
    Drew10 is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    1,859

    Default

    I have typical antenna TV. I use an external "V" antenna mounted on my right mirror.
    Obviously how many channels and the quality of the channels received depends on your proximity to a city that broadcasts air TV.
    It is very helpful if you TV or the tuner that is used is capably of self scanning for the local TV channels.

  8. #7
    wsyrob is offline Board Regular
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    216

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Malaki86
    I haven't had a tv or tv tuner in my truck in years. I just use my laptop in the truck and a portable usb drive that I load up on movies and tv shows that I download on my home pc.
    I do the same thing. I have to have live sports though. Its not the same when you know the outcome.

  9. #8
    Uturn2001 is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    East Central IL between the corn and the beans
    Posts
    4,982

    Default

    If you are going to be using a TV to receive over the air broadcasts or even think you might once in a while do yourself a favor and go and apply for the government coupon for a converter box and then get one before the Feb 2009 switch over to all digital signals.
    Finding the right trucking company is like finding the right person to marry. I really comes down to finding one whose BS you can put up with and who can put up wih yours.

  10. #9
    flood is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    tennesse
    Posts
    738

    Default

    most tv's and vcr's made in the last three years are digital ready. but you will need to check to see if yours is if not you will need the converter box,

    we have dish network in the truck it will cost you an extra $5 per month.
    it cost us a $12 per month because if what we have (dish DVR for 2 tv's)

  11. #10
    tweety bird is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    535

    Default

    A lot of guys have satellite in the truck and if you have Dish at home, you should be able to add the line for very little extra- like flood says.

    If you have satellite, you don't need the converter. That's only for regular antenna signals, not satellite or cable.

  12. #11
    freebird is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    1,149

    Default

    Check out SlingBox if you have a home tv connection and a laptop.

    http://www.slingmedia.com/go/slingbox

  13. #12
    BigDiesel is offline BANNED Rookie
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Long gone from here
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I have VuQube now and its only 5 bucks for the extra receiver.

  14. #13
    bigm3944 is offline Rookie
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Queen Creek, Arizona
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BigDiesel
    I have VuQube now and its only 5 bucks for the extra receiver.
    Big are you doing dish or directv?
    American by birth Southern by the grace of god

  15. #14
    bigpapa7272 is offline Board Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    216

    Default

    vu qube works with both, as i understand

  16. #15
    flood is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    tennesse
    Posts
    738

    Default

    only three things i don't like about vuqube is
    1st is the $700 ($629 if you find it now sale) just for the dish.
    2nd is the lag time when you channel surf going from one sat to the other like the old C-BAND 10' dish
    3rd will not work with my dvr setup (it can't record) from both sat's at the sametime, like my dish can.

  17. #16
    bigpapa7272 is offline Board Regular
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    216

    Default

    so ur saying you would be better getting a direct tv dish on a tripod?

  18. #17
    flood is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    tennesse
    Posts
    738

    Default

    check this out http://www.classadrivers.com/phpBB2/...478&highlight= our setup in on page 2-3.

    vuqube is find it just will not work with the dvr that i have and if you don't mind the lag time 20-60 secs and i myself i can think of other things i can use the money for.

  19. #18
    Malaki86's Avatar
    Malaki86 is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Mannington, WV
    Posts
    4,411

    Default

    I bought a new computer for the truck last week (it'll be here on Monday). So, since I went to a regular computer, I needed to get a new monitor as well (I used a 17" display on the laptop before). So, I just got a 22" widescreen LCD. All I can say is "OMG!!!"

    At 1440x900 resolution, I can sit 6 feet away from the monitor and read the web page.

    Can't wait to put it in the truck.

  20. #19
    ORPLINER is offline Rookie
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    20

    Default

    after the first 2 answer to this question-i'm confused. I drive a FL Columbia with a standard(i guess) pole antenna for the Tv.I have a 15" LCD tv-will I need a different type antenna to pick up the digital broad-cast signal or a converter box-i know the tv is digital.Appreciate any info

  21. #20
    Malaki86's Avatar
    Malaki86 is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Mannington, WV
    Posts
    4,411

    Default

    A standard antenna will pick up the digital signal. If the tv does not have a digital tuner, you'll need a converter box or a new tv.

  22. This ad will disappear if you login

 




Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1