User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2008, 03:12 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Tell if this is smart or not

I have had some friends to tell me that what I am doing is not smart. I work 50 hours a week but I pay me bills like I am working 40 hours a week. The other 10 hours I take a little bit for me and put the rest in an IRA. I do this because I remembered when my uncle worked at Delphi, he would work 50-70 hours a week and when the overtime stopped he was in big trouble finanicially. Their thing is the more you make the more government will take so I should use the 10 hours of pay instead of pocketing it. I have been doing this for 2 years and I have put away some serious money even in this troubled stock market. I think I am doing right ( I know 2 minds are sometimes better than 1) but I hear this everytime we are together that I should use that money. I don't know if it is jeolosy or mean spirited I would like to know from a few more people.
Old 09-19-2008, 04:13 PM
Senior Board Member

Dieselpower;

What other people think does not matter in the least. If more people had the discipline to do what you are doing, then we would not be scratcing our heads, confroned with the economic problems that we are currently facing.

The key to true wealth and prosperity is by treating your paycheck as the SEED of your labors not as the FRUIT of them. The more seeds you eat, the fewer seeds you have to plant. The fewer seeds you have to plant, the smaller your future harvest will be.

There are clear Spiritual considerations here as well. While I am not a Christian, I do believe what The Bible tells us in The Book of Genesis;

"By the sweat of your brow shall you sew your seed, and in sorrow shall you eat of it."