User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2008, 07:54 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Swift orientation

Hello everyone... first post here...

Anyway I'm a recent graduate and I'll be heading to Swift for orientation in 2 weeks. It's going to be a 3-day event and I'm very excited about it. I've never been in this industry so I'm very new here... Heard lots of complain about this company but still they're one of a few companies that hire recent graduates. I'm hoping I can get some experience so I can get out and find better jobs with ease. I've seen happy Swift drivers in the past so I hope I can be one also...

Anyone wants to share their experience about what is like in the orientation (Swift drivers preferred, but I'm sure they're pretty much the same for other companies... right?)... I knew I'm prepared for any challenge but listening to other pros here would be nice What will be done in the orientation?

Thanks for any input!
Old 03-12-2008, 08:10 PM
Senior Board Member

Well, Dodgesrt4,

1st:

Welcome to CAD!! 8)

2nd:

I never drove for SWIFT, but I do know some SWIFT drivers.

Day 1:

Your first day is going to be a game of "Hurry up and wait".

.......Stacks of paperwork to fill out, drug testing, perhaps a physical test involving lifting abilities, then......... a number of your fellow classmates will be asked to "step out of the classroom", and then they'll be sent packing.

.......Could be because of a failed drug test, (which happens a lot!!) an unacceptable MVR, falsifications on their employment apps, criminal histories, ...... and the list goes on.

Day 2:

SWIFT trainers will teach you how to roll over stuff, back into other trucks, take up three parking spaces while parked at the truckstop, and block the truckstop fuel pumps while you catch up on your log and eat your lunch!!

Day 3: