User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2006, 06:09 PM
Rookie
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Default Interested in driving but what companies allow dogs

I am wanting to change careers and move into the trucking profession. Although I have never driven a "big" truck I believe that I was born with a steering wheel attached to my hands. Driving has always been a great source of enjoyment for me. I have read alot of the threads about various companies; the good, the bad and the ugly and I thought I had it all sewn up as to who I would want to work for.

The problem I am having is that the companies I like and am calling do not allow dogs. I have no experience and will need to either go to a company school to learn (my preference) or go to a private school; either way I will have to work as a company driver until I get enough time and experience under my belt and then (ideally) I will purchase my own truck and become an o/o.

Sorry for the long winded message. Any help will be much appreciated.
Old 09-05-2006, 06:25 PM
Senior Board Member

There are a few companies that allow pets. You are just going to have to keep looking around.

My question is, why are you limiting your career with only looking at companies that allow pets? Sure it would be nice if we could all bring our dogs to work. But thats just not how the world works. I cant take my dog to work. Now, I know what you are going to say. You are going to say Im not away from home for long periods of time like a driver. Ok, what about Pilots, bus drivers, outside sales people, the military...you never see those people wanting to take their pets to work. Heck, i was a district manager in retail many years ago. I was usually away from home for 3 to 4 weeks at a time. No way anyone would have let me take a dog.
I just wonder why some drivers almost demand that they be able to work with pets.