Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: cobra cb in a freightliner columbia?

  1. #1
    kebo072 is offline Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kingsport,TN
    Posts
    66

    Default cobra cb in a freightliner columbia?

    I bought a cobra cb and can't figure out how to install.

    the radio has red lead, orange lead, and black ground.

    the truck has one cb power, one negative wire?

    the manual says red is for 12 volt fuse. orange is for "constant" 12v fuse.

    any help?

  2.  
  3. #2
    Rev.Vassago's Avatar
    Rev.Vassago is offline Guest Board Icon
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The other side of the coin
    Posts
    9,411

    Default Re: cobra cb in a freightliner columbia?

    Quote Originally Posted by kebo072
    I bought a cobra cb and can't figure out how to install.

    the radio has red lead, orange lead, and black ground.

    the truck has one cb power, one negative wire?

    the manual says red is for 12 volt fuse. orange is for "constant" 12v fuse.

    any help?
    Hook it to the red post with the red wire. It is so that you can have constant power to the CB. Many truck systems provide constant power through the red (positive) post. The black wire is your negative.

    The CB just has 2 positives and one negative.

  4. #3
    kebo072 is offline Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Kingsport,TN
    Posts
    66

    Default

    thanks,

  5. #4
    RebelDarlin's Avatar
    RebelDarlin is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    On the road
    Posts
    2,827

    Default

    You have a Fire Extinguisher handy, right? :wink:
    My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government.
    Thomas Jefferson- Democratic-Republican

    That some should be rich, shows that others may become rich, and, hence, is just encouragement to industry and enterprise.
    Abraham Lincoln


    "America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose our freedoms, it will be because we destroyed ourselves." -Abraham Lincoln

  6. #5
    Kranky's Avatar
    Kranky is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Re: cobra cb in a freightliner columbia?

    Quote Originally Posted by kebo072
    I bought a cobra cb and can't figure out how to install.

    the radio has red lead, orange lead, and black ground.

    the truck has one cb power, one negative wire?

    the manual says red is for 12 volt fuse. orange is for "constant" 12v fuse.

    any help?
    The orange wire has to be hooked up to a source of power that is "on" even when the truck key switch is off. That is because the orange wire is for the memory circuit in the CB radio.

    If you just hook the orange wire to a source that shuts off when the key switch is off, the CB will revert to (on most CBs) it's default channel 9.

    Not the end of the world, you just have to re tune the CB to the desired channel every time in that case, but it's a lot nicer to hook it up the right way.
    If you can't shift it smoothly, you shouldn't be driving it.

  7. #6
    Rev.Vassago's Avatar
    Rev.Vassago is offline Guest Board Icon
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The other side of the coin
    Posts
    9,411

    Default Re: cobra cb in a freightliner columbia?

    Quote Originally Posted by Splitshifter
    If you just hook the orange wire to a source that shuts off when the key switch is off, the CB will revert to (on most CBs) it's default channel 9.

    Not the end of the world, you just have to re tune the CB to the desired channel every time in that case, but it's a lot nicer to hook it up the right way.
    I don't remember if Fruitshakers have constant CB power. Now that I think about it, I don't think they do. My Peterbilt has constant power through the red post. I think Kenworth is the same way.

    Digital CB's suck anyway. Get one with an actual dial that you have to turn.

  8. #7
    Kranky's Avatar
    Kranky is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Re: cobra cb in a freightliner columbia?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rev.Vassago
    Quote Originally Posted by Splitshifter
    If you just hook the orange wire to a source that shuts off when the key switch is off, the CB will revert to (on most CBs) it's default channel 9.

    Not the end of the world, you just have to re tune the CB to the desired channel every time in that case, but it's a lot nicer to hook it up the right way.
    I don't remember if Fruitshakers have constant CB power. Now that I think about it, I don't think they do. My Peterbilt has constant power through the red post. I think Kenworth is the same way.

    Digital CB's suck anyway. Get one with an actual dial that you have to turn.
    Ya Rev, if the red post turns off with the key, then you gotta find an "unswitched" power source for the orange wire, we just go into the circuit breaker panel and tie into the hot wire that feeds it (with an in line circuit breaker at the point of attachment of course).
    If you can't shift it smoothly, you shouldn't be driving it.

  9. #8
    Rev.Vassago's Avatar
    Rev.Vassago is offline Guest Board Icon
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The other side of the coin
    Posts
    9,411

    Default Re: cobra cb in a freightliner columbia?

    Quote Originally Posted by Splitshifter

    Ya Rev, if the red post turns off with the key, then you gotta find an "unswitched" power source for the orange wire, we just go into the circuit breaker panel and tie into the hot wire that feeds it (with an in line circuit breaker at the point of attachment of course).
    Just run the wire directly to the battery. No fuse necessary. That's safe, right? :lol:

  10. #9
    Kranky's Avatar
    Kranky is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Re: cobra cb in a freightliner columbia?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rev.Vassago
    Quote Originally Posted by Splitshifter

    Ya Rev, if the red post turns off with the key, then you gotta find an "unswitched" power source for the orange wire, we just go into the circuit breaker panel and tie into the hot wire that feeds it (with an in line circuit breaker at the point of attachment of course).
    Just run the wire directly to the battery. No fuse necessary. That's safe, right? :lol:
    :lol:
    If you can't shift it smoothly, you shouldn't be driving it.

  11. #10
    Jumbo's Avatar
    Jumbo is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Northern Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,102

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RebelDarlin
    You have a Fire Extinguisher handy, right? :wink:
    He was hooking it to a regular powered post, Not hooking it to the generator.
    Don't trust anybody. Especially that guy in the mirror.

  12. #11
    Jumbo's Avatar
    Jumbo is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Northern Wisconsin
    Posts
    2,102

    Default

    My columbia does always have power to the red cb power post.
    Don't trust anybody. Especially that guy in the mirror.

  13. #12
    RebelDarlin's Avatar
    RebelDarlin is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    On the road
    Posts
    2,827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jumbo
    Quote Originally Posted by RebelDarlin
    You have a Fire Extinguisher handy, right? :wink:
    He was hooking it to a regular powered post, Not hooking it to the generator.

    I just worry about Rev's instructions on EVERYTHING now. :wink:
    My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government.
    Thomas Jefferson- Democratic-Republican

    That some should be rich, shows that others may become rich, and, hence, is just encouragement to industry and enterprise.
    Abraham Lincoln


    "America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose our freedoms, it will be because we destroyed ourselves." -Abraham Lincoln

  14. #13
    Rev.Vassago's Avatar
    Rev.Vassago is offline Guest Board Icon
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    The other side of the coin
    Posts
    9,411

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RebelDarlin
    Quote Originally Posted by Jumbo
    Quote Originally Posted by RebelDarlin
    You have a Fire Extinguisher handy, right? :wink:
    He was hooking it to a regular powered post, Not hooking it to the generator.

    I just worry about Rev's instructions on EVERYTHING now. :wink:
    Yes - any instructions I give, even if they don't involve anything electronic in any way, shape, or form, are guaranteed to result in fire. I pity anyone who asks me for directions, because that is guaranteed death. :lol:

  15. #14
    RebelDarlin's Avatar
    RebelDarlin is offline Senior Board Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    On the road
    Posts
    2,827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rev.Vassago
    Quote Originally Posted by RebelDarlin
    Quote Originally Posted by Jumbo
    Quote Originally Posted by RebelDarlin
    You have a Fire Extinguisher handy, right? :wink:
    He was hooking it to a regular powered post, Not hooking it to the generator.

    I just worry about Rev's instructions on EVERYTHING now. :wink:
    Yes - any instructions I give, even if they don't involve anything electronic in any way, shape, or form, are guaranteed to result in fire. I pity anyone who asks me for directions, because that is guaranteed death. :lol:

    Well you are the board arsonist aren't you?
    My reading of history convinces me that most bad government results from too much government.
    Thomas Jefferson- Democratic-Republican

    That some should be rich, shows that others may become rich, and, hence, is just encouragement to industry and enterprise.
    Abraham Lincoln


    "America will never be destroyed from the outside. If we falter and lose our freedoms, it will be because we destroyed ourselves." -Abraham Lincoln

  16. This ad will disappear if you login

 




Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1